My most abused prayer line.

seeing

I remember that growing up whenever i am called upon to pray after the word of God has been preached or studied one of my most abused prayer line was, “Father help me not to be just a listener of your word but also a doer of it”.

Well, little did i know that i was actually asking for faith. Yes i had been praying for faith even without knowing and guess what, God  gave me something my natural man was unaware of but my spirit man was asking. I guess i was praying in the spirit for a long time and yes it has been rewarding.

I am saying all these because faith is simply acting on God’s word or doing what the word says no matter what the circumstance around you demands of you.

22 Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! 23 Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, 24 walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like. 25 But whoever catches a glimpse of the revealed counsel of God—the free life!—even out of the corner of his eye, and sticks with it, is no distracted scatterbrain but a man or woman of action. That person will find delight and affirmation in the action. James 1:22-25 (MSG)

A Christian without faith is like a Christian without an identity. One just using the name “Christian” as a cover to be in church but when  out of church, forgets all about the teachings in church then begins to show the face behind the cover because that is what that person knows and is used to.

But then how can one look into a mirror and after walking away forgets what he looks like instantly? You forget because what you see is nothing short of arrogance which is not worth remembering.

This happens when you  look into the wrong  mirror. Have you ever had an experience with that one mirror that always makes your head bigger than it really is and you go like, this is not me, this mirror hates me, lol. yeah i relate too.

The self-mirror is deceptive, it makes you look superior to others refusing to submit to any authority therefore causing you to grow arrogant. But there is this mirror,  the only one that reflects glory, anytime one looks into it he experiences something wonderful, all weakness are replaced with the strength of God by grace.Looking into it even for a second imprints on your heart moments of lasting glory.How can one forget a wonderful experience, even if it is for a second, it sure remains in the heart forever.

The more you look into the Christ-mirror the more you reflects what is seen in the mirror, and the more you receive strength to do the will of God.

I end by saying do not be a hypocritical christian, it is too costly and short-lived but be no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts.

God bless you.

Prayer

Father in the name of Jesus thank you for this day and the life you have given to me free of charge. Please forgive my errors Father, as i forgive others.Thank you for this message, my first request is that you will help me start fresh with this message, help me be the doer of what it says, help me stay focused on you no matter what so as to get the strength to always do your will. Thank you Lord for answering my prayer in Jesus’ name, Amen.

©Papberry2016

 

 

 

7 Replies to “My most abused prayer line.”

Leave a Reply

