The ungrateful child

son

last week I encountered an old man who began telling me some things as I sat by him in a bus, obviously he lacked people to talk to so the least chance he got, he shared his story. It was awkward in the beginning but gradually I warmed up to the conversation. I had thoughts running through my head as to why a man who just met me felt comfortable enough to let me in on his life issues. Then I was like let me just listen and learn, after all what have I got to loose?

This old man probably in his early 70’s started grumbling about his only son…

He was like, I’m just from my son’s house and as I got there I couldn’t even spend the night because he thinks I’m a bother now that he has a good job that pays him and other things making his life comfortable. I went to talk to him but as usual he wouldn’t even sit down to listen to my “nonsense” and make some sense out of it.

My daughter, the issue is a little complicated but listen and learn from it so you don’t repeat this mistake, the old man said with small a voice as I looked into his weak eyes and saw little drops of tears trying to escape them.

I lost my wife in labor when my son was birthed. Things were pretty tough in the village where I reside but I promised my wife to give our son the best. I had to work all kinds of menial jobs to gather enough money and sometimes borrow to ensure that my son got the best. I had to do by force fasting without prayers (starving) sometimes for his wellbeing and I gladly did without thinking twice, because he was all I had.

His university days were like nightmares for me, things were seriously tough but all the same I had to look for other means of catering for my son and through the struggle God was and has been faithful seeing my son through school and now he has a very good job here in the city. But it looks like my son does not know who I am anymore. I don’t know what happened but anytime he sees my face he looks at me like someone who came to beg for alms and also one who came to reap what he has not sown.

So my daughter tell me the wrong I did by taking care of this boy even when my strength couldn’t suffice so that at least in my old age I will enjoy life but see my end, total rejection, coming from my very blood…

I believe we have started judging this boy but pause and read this before…

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me. Rev 3:20 (NIV)

This is Jesus speaking to us, after all He did for us He still has to stand at the door for so long and knock and exercise enough patience for us to walk leisurely to the door, look at him through the small whole and realizing He is the one, we never allow Him in ‘cause he is coming to “disturb” us. Now we are comfortable with the life we have, so its  Jesus I don’t need your presence, go! when I’m in in need I will call for you. Isn’t this sad?

sorry

Anytime we reject Jesus His heart hurts but He still hangs around just in case we remember all he did for us when we didn’t even love ourselves and decide to allow him in.

Say this prayer with me if you wanna invite Him in this moment, i mean now for time waits on no man…

Lord, Jesus, today I accept that I am a sinner and that it’s for my sins that you died, and for my redemption you raised from the dead and so I take you as my Lord and personal Savior, come into my heart and teach me the right way for I want to walk with you forever and so help me God, in Jesus name amen.

If you have said this prayer believe that you have been saved. The bible says, for it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. Romans 10:10

For further information reach me via mail, papberryofficial@gmail.com.

 

10 Replies to “The ungrateful child”

  1. I do have to add that I believe in baptism for salvation. For Peter spoke to the masses in Acts 2:38 and told them that they needed to repent and be baptized in the name of Jesus for the remission of sins and they would receive the Holy Spirit.

    No one in the bible was ever saved by just a prayer alone. By the way, you did a good work to spend time listening to the old man, and let him empty his troubled heart. Good for you!

    Steve
    https://lightministryblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Steve, for adding up. what you said is totally true but know that our walk with God is about believing or having faith in Him, without that it is impossible to achieve anything in Christ,
      This post is actually the first step… That’s why I added that I should be emailed for further details…
      Thanks again for your comment, God bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree with you that faith is key to salvation. Without faith it is impossible to please God. It is also unlikely a person would seek baptism. Good job in asking others to email you for more details…

        Have a great weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

