Today’s Fragrance: How long can you hold your thirst?


Today’s Fragrance by Papberry

Topic: how long can you hold your thirst?

Main text: Psalm 63:1

Somewhere in 2014 I started my national service with a research institution,  it was a great opportunity for me to learn and also to gain extra cash in addition to my national service allowance. The feeling was awesome because we were mostly going to the field and it fetched more cash.

But it got to a time that I didn’t enjoy what I was doing but I just had to do it just for the sake of it. Was I tired already or that exciting feeling just evaporated?

we could go to the field for a month get back and relax for a week and go again, it wasn’t fun anymore cause I was missing something, I got tasty and hungry for something more because during those times on the field I didn’t  get to go to church. I had my devotion everyday but it was just not enough for me.
This particular scripture felt more alive to me during those times…

1 A David psalm, when he was out in the Judean wilderness.
God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you! I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God, traveling across dry and weary deserts.
Psalms 63:1 (MSG)

Finally it was almost Christmas and we were given some break. You can only imagine how I rushed to be at every church gathering I knew of, just to have that cooperate worship and to experience something more that could satisfy my thirst.

And in His presence I go like…

2. So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open, drinking in your strength and glory 3 In your generous love I am really living at last! My lips brim praises like fountains. 4 I bless you every time I take a breath; My arms wave like banners of praise to you. 5 I eat my fill of prime rib and gravy; I smack my lips. It’s time to shout praises! (Psalm 63:3-5 MSG)

My point exactly is that sometimes we get so busy and in our busyness we miss out on the very relevant things. But thank God for the Holy Spirit who sensitizes us whenever we are going down.

It is paramount that we become more sensitive to His promptings because sometimes we go through certain situations and we see it as normal, but remember it is mostly the normal and not extraordinary things that puts a man down.

if that thing is taking you away from your God then I think its time to let it go else that thing will let you loose your God.

Prayer 

Father in the name of Jesus, thank you for the gift of life. I humbly ask that you will forgive my sins as I forgive those who sin against me. Holy Spirit take over and teach me to respond quickly to your promptings and lead me always to the place you want me to be, living in your generous love. Thank you Father for listening to me in Jesus name, amen.

 

 

 

 

6 Replies to “Today’s Fragrance: How long can you hold your thirst?”

Leave a Reply

