Testimony Thursday

This is a testimony of a blogger friend and a sister in Christ known as lady Jay. She tried to seek the approval of men to feel validated and in the process got abused. Her testimony has already been shared on this platform but this is a continuation of her story and it focuses on how she got saved. Click here to preview the first story.

Her words potrays in details a view of what happened, follow through to the end and be blessed by this…

He Called, I Answered 

The bars, barbed wire, voluminous slamming gates, physical prison revealed the maximum security prison ward inside of me. As I went throughout my days there, under the impression that I was a hopeless homosexual with an insatiable drug addiction, audibly God began to speak to me. At first, I ignored the voice and continued to engage in relationships with other women, use drugs within the institution, and journal vulgarities. But, gradually, something changed. No longer did I want to be addressed as Sunshine, the cocaine addict and career woman of the night, no, no, no; by the grace of God, I realized that my name is Jennifer.

My Redeemer moved in swiftly as my mind became a fertile ground, He taught me how to find Him in His Word. Daily I searched the Word of God, with different versions of the bible, a concordance, and index cards, and I found Him. Increasingly, I came to understand that the drugs, sex, and money were the devices I used to mask a deeper pain, a necessary pain. The torturous distorted creatures that crept in the alleys of my mind, were my motivators to continue self-destructive behaviors. Jesus showed me how to forfeit disparaging thoughts for the fruitful thoughts prompted by His promises.

Together with God, I sojourned to an awakening that cannot be called anything but a miracle. The desire for cocaine, cigarettes, unwed intercourse and all sorts of sinful behaviors exited and I welcomed holiness wholeheartedly. There were lonely tearful nights and days as I often grieved over the life that I devoted to destruction. There were unanswered questions, “why Lord, why did I do those things to myself?” God reminded of His provision in my uncertainties, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 

I joined the choir in prison, sang on the Praise and Worship team, and attended bible study. My face was ever before God. Anything He requested, I did without hesitation. My prison sentence felt more like an opportunity to grow in love than an unjust incarceration. Utterly grateful, God used the mess that was my life and handed me a message to share with the world- Jesus Saves! 

Indeed Jesus saves…no matter where you are and what you are going through, if you open up to Him, He will come and dwell with you and be your help in your time of need.

Psalms 34:18
The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

I hope this testimony spoke to you. If you have one to share send it to us via email @ papberryofficial@gmail.com 

Blessings…

©Papberry2017

Leave a Reply

